O INUIT

Press Release

Circumpolar Inuit Conclude 13th ICC General Assembly – New Chair Elected: Dr. Dalee Sambo Dorough Utqiagʻvik Declaration Adopted

July 19, 2018 – Utqiagʻvik, Alaska – Inuit delegates from Alaska (USA), Greenland, Canada, and Chukotka (Russia) today concluded a successful 13th Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) General Assembly on the theme of "Inuit - The Arctic We Want" in Utqiagʻvik, Alaska, unified and strengthened.

Over the course of four days the 64 Inuit delegates heard presentations from Inuit experts on a range of topics. Reports were delivered on three major summits held by ICC over the last four-year term on Economic Development, Wildlife Management, and Language. A detailed report on the outcomes of the Pikialasorsuaq Commission on the North Water Polynya between Canada and Greenland was also made to the delegation.

As is ICC tradition the Chair of the international organization was transferred to Alaska for the next four-year term. Dr. Dalee Sambo Dorough was unanimously elected as the new Chair, taking over from Canada's Okalik Eeegeesiak.

"Every Inuk is valued. Every Inuk is the Inuit Circumpolar Council. Period," underlined Dalee Sambo Dorough in her closing address. "Our founding father, Eben Hopson, had the foresight to unite us as a people. He saw the value of advancing a coherent, coordinated approach to our collective action. and our united voice at the international level. I want to underscore the interrelated, interdependent and indivisible nature of human rights. We have determined our political status – we are distinct peoples, with distinct rights that inhabit a distinct region of the world. I am genuinely honored to have been selected to lead the Inuit Circumpolar Council for the next four years."

The delegates also adopted the Utqiagvik Declaration, both an outcome document from this General Assembly and a roadmap to the work ICC will engage in during the coming four years. The Utqiagvik Declaration contains 10 sections and 58 clauses, drafted with the theme of the General Assembly in mind "Inuit – The Arctic We Want".

Following the conclusion of the General Assembly the ICC Executive Council met with its newly elected members from respective countries, and international Chair. The Executive Council is composed of the following members:

Chair: Dr. Dalee Sambo Dorough

Alaska: President: Jimmy Stotts; Vice-President: Vera Metcalf

Canada: President: Monica Ell-Kanayuk; Vice-President: Lisa Koperqualuk Chukotka: President: Lubov Taian; Vice-President: Elena Kaminskaya Greenland: President Hjalmar Dahl; Vice-President: Nuka Kleeman

The Bill Edmunds Award established by ICC to honour those individuals who have made a selfless contribution to the promotion of Inuit rights and interests, with a particular focus on international endeavors, was awarded to outgoing ICC Chukotka President Tatiana Achirgina.

The next ICC General Assembly will be held in Ilulissat, Greenland in 2022.

-30-

Contact: Kelly Eningowuk ICC (Alaska)

(907) 274-9058 kelly@iccalaska.org Natasha Latreille ICC (Canada) (613) 563-2642

NLatreille@inuitcircumpolar.com